Top Post Ad

Nepal Airlines get license to operate Dangerous Goods

 Nepal Airlines has obtained a license to import and export different dangerous goods. After being able to comply with international standards to handle dangerous goods, Nepal Airlines obtained the license. After this achievement, the airlines will be able to make a profit of three times from its cargo business if they will be able to capitalize this opportunity.

In its 63 years of service in the sky, they were able to get this opportunity. This will not only increase the income of Nepal Airlines but also help in raising income to Nepal government as well. Currently two wide body aircraft Airbus A3230-200 and two narrow body A320-200. Now, when the plane is not fully occupied on its flight, it can carry DG (Dangerous Goods). It will benefit carrying DG on its flight from different sectors.

Prem Bahadur Ale Magar- current Minister of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, who has been seen actively participating in different affairs of NAC also has shown keen interest in the upliftment of the airlines. The state-owned airlines company is in heavy debts at the moment. It is in debt of more than 50 arab paying interest of more than 9% on its loan is lagging far behind in competing in the International market and obtaining a fair share of market share. It fails to compete with other airlines both in domestic and International sector.



what does "Dangerous Goods (DG)" mean in the aviation sector?

Dangerous Goods or Hazardous Materials are commodities that are dangerous to transport aboard an aircraft because they may cause damage to the aircraft or its occupants. Certain commodities are not considered hazardous in normal circumstances, but they can be hazardous when transported by aircraft. The FAA categorizes these materials into various classifications.

Classes of hazardous materials

A placard displaying 9 types of dangerous goods: explosives, gasses, flammable liquid, flammable solid, oxidizer, poison, radioactive, corrosive and others.

Image source:

FAA has defined nine classes for identifying dangerous goods. UN model regulation also identified these classes to identify and handle goods properly in air transportation.

Class 1 Explosives

CLASS 1 HAZMAT Explosives are hazardous materials that can explode, erupt, or blast as a result of a chemical reaction. Explosives are considered hazardous for air travel because they can injure passengers and wreck aircraft structures. The temperature rise, noise, and radiation emitted by an explosive in flight could result in catastrophic consequences. Military ordnance, fireworks, flares, fuses, rocket sections, and TNT products are examples of common explosives carried on an airplane.

Class 2 Gases

Gases classified as Class 2 dangerous goods have a vapor pressure of 300 kPa or higher at 50°C. Components with gaseous characteristics at 20°C, as well as products containing such gases, are likewise considered hazardous for air transportation. Compressed gases, refrigerated gases, gas mixtures, liquefied gases, and dissolved gases are all included in this category. Gases are hazardous for air travel since they can be combustible or life-threatening, as well as being colorless and odorless. Airplanes commonly transport aerosols, compressed air, fire extinguishers, gas cartridges, agricultural gases, refrigerant gases, gas lighters, and petroleum gases.

Class 3 Flammable Liquids

Dangerous flammable liquids are defined as flammable liquid materials with a flashpoint of less than 65°C. Due to their volatility and combustion properties, such liquids can pose major risks. Acetone, glue, alcohol, petrol, agricultural products, and paint materials are frequently delivered via air cargo.

Class 4 Flammable Solids

Due to friction and sensitive reaction qualities, such solid materials are combustible or may engage in a fire. Dangerous solid solids also contain components that reactivate easily when exposed to air or water. Because of their volatility, combustibility, and spread, flammable solids pose a risk to air freight. Alkali metals, powdered metals, matches, sulfur, desensitized explosives, and sodium batteries are all widely air-transported flammable solids.

Class 5 Oxidizer

Oxidizers are substances that can cause combustion due to the effect of oxygen produced as a result of chemical interactions. Oxidizers are often not combustible, although they can create oxygen, which can aid in combustion. Certain oxidizers can also cause problems, including skin and eye infections. Chemical oxygen generators, nitrates, chlorates, nitrates, and perchlorates are all examples of oxidizers.

Class 6 Poison

Poisonous substances are those toxic materials that, if swallowed, inhaled, or touched, can cause illness or even death. Pathogens are commonly found in such materials. Rules define pathogens as substances containing microorganisms such as bacteria, viruses, parasites, or fungal agents that are harmful to human health. Medical waste, fuel, oils, colors, acids, cyanides, lead, mercury, nicotine, phenol, and other pollutants fall into this category.

Class 7 Radioactive Material

Radioactive materials are volatile materials with unstable atoms that emit radiations continually as they decay. These compounds are hazardous because they can ionize substances within the human body, altering cell activity. Radioactive contaminants can potentially interfere with aircraft transmission and cause structural or other sensitive equipment damage.

Class 8 Corrosives

Corrosive materials are chemicals that harm or disintegrate other materials upon contact. Such elements are destructive to the structure of the airplane, the human body, and other things in the surrounding environment.

Class 9 Miscellaneous Hazardous Materials & Lithium Batteries

Miscellaneous dangerous products are items that pose a risk during transportation but are not classified in any of the preceding categories. This category comprises ecologically hazardous substances transported at high temperatures, genetic samples, magnetic compounds, and so on. Such materials are deemed hazardous to human health, aircraft structure, and overall flight safety. Dry ice, hazardous compounds, and other specific harmful items are forms of miscellaneous goods.

At present Nepali airlines will be able to transport Dangerous Goods of Class 7 and Class 9 as classified by ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization). Before this announcement, NAC used to transport such dangerous goods obtaining a license and operate every 3 months.

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.